Assignment: Find Turning Points and tell why they’re important along with how they happened.

There aren’t  very many turning points in my life, but I do have a few. One of the most important one’s that would have changed my future entirely was when we joined our most recent church. My parents have had a long history of assisting in the growth of small churches. Every time, they would help set up things in the rented buildings, play in their worship bands, and help tear down at the end of the day. Time and time again, the churches would buy a place to call their own, and they would move on. I still remember a couple of the ones we went to. The most recent one is the one they felt a different connection to. They started out like the rest, renting a high school every Sunday, but something made them stay. They just knew that it was the right church for us. I thought so too, even after they found a building for themselves. If we had never gone, I never would have met the people I know now. We would have had a very different community of friends around us. The last four years of my life would have been very different if it had not been for them.

An equally important turning point was when I went to school for the first time. For the first few years of my life, I was home schooled. My mom would stay home and teach me while my little brother napped. Being only six, I would pretend every morning that I was riding the bus to school, thinking it was so much fun. I had dreamed of riding a real bus ever since I found out what one was. It wasn’t until one summer that my mom asked me if I wanted it to become a reality. I agreed that I wanted to go to school, like the rest of the kids in the neighborhood. So, she signed me up, and a few months later, I prepared for the first day of school. I was a little late to the party, as it turned out, so first grade was my first real class. I was thrilled to finally be going for real. However, first impressions were not as I had hoped. The very first day I was there I got in trouble. I can’t pinpoint exactly why I did, but the teachers were not the happiest. I was so curious, always asking questions, but the teachers said I was being disruptive. They could not, however, shut me up. By the time it was November, I had become well acquainted with the principle. I just wanted to know more. What else would a kid want? Finally, when I was done with first grade, I walked up to my mom one day and said the four words that changed my education forever: “I want to learn.” If it weren’t for my troublesome experiences at school, I never would have been taught the way kids are supposed to be taught. My mom, to this day, can still remember when I made that choice.

Leave a Reply

