This week for my Business reading assignment, I have been intrigued by the book chosen. It is Dale Carnegie’s How to win friends and influence people. So far, I have read part one, and have learn some ‘fundamentals’ on how to deal with people. Now here’s the interesting part about this week. The question presented seemed a bit odd at first, but here it is: “What would it take for Dr. North, or my teacher, to persuade me to use Spreeder for 10 minutes a day?”

So spreader is an online (free app) or downloadable (Spreeder CX) program designed to help you read faster, yet still be able to comprehend what the book is saying. (link below to Spreeder) Now, honestly, If my teacher had assigned me to use it, I would do it regardless. But let’s suppose that I could say no to using it. Then he would have to persuade me to.

First, he would have to tell me the benefits of using this app. Maybe he would say that with it I would be able to read my assignments quicker and get them done faster. That I would like. (no offense RPC) What I would really need to hear, I suppose, is that it will benefit my future, wether it’s reading crucial documents, or something to this effect, that would help me with my business, then I might be willing to listen. Besides it would only be for a measly ten minutes. It’s not like I have anything important to do after my school work is done.

Now, the wrong way to do this, if I could say no, is for him to just say,’I want you to use spreader.’ Wether it’s something as simple as this, or an important business request, you would never get the other person to do anything if you said that. From what I’ve read, you should always say things regarding the other person’s wants and what they want to do, not what you want them to do.

The other thing he would have to do is to make me want to do it. He would have to make it seem really important, making it appear to be a great thing for me to do. He could say something like,’you could read so much in such little time, and all you have to do is spend just a few minutes to do it! Doesn’t that sound so easy?’ Yes, indeed it does, and I am rather fond of reading books and things that are of great importance. Why not make it easier to?

It’s not that hard to persuade someone with these methods, but, then again, it’s not that easy either. So, like all things, it takes a bit of practice to get it right. So Dr. North, you better be taking notes. I’m kidding! But, that is how he would have to persuade me. And who knows. Maybe I might try it in my own time.

 

Spreeder: https://www.spreeder.com

Leave a Reply

